My unfiltered top 10 books today

Ok, I’m calling a moratorium on doing stuff and then tagging your friends on Facebook to follow you like lemurs off a cliff! This summer I have dumped ice water on my head, listed 3 things I was grateful for, and that’s already two more things than I’m comfortable doing en masse! But I love my friends so I do this for you with only a little grumbling! I’ve taken to actually avoiding Facebook because I don’t want any more homework!

“…In your status list 10 books that have stayed with you in some way. Don’t take more than a few minutes and don’t think too hard. They do not have to be the “right” books or great works of literature, just books that have stayed with you in some way….

This is good because I’m currently on a coffee break at work so I literally have only till the end of this coffee cup to come up with my 10 books – and I never think too hard. I have also had no time to edit it for minimum embarrassment! I am, of course, going to ignore the brief few weeks a couple of years ago when I thought that Twilight was a masterpiece – I’m chalking that up to paroxysmal idiopathic brain damage!

  1. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen: Because I saw the BBC version of this when I was 8 years old and fell irrevocably in love with Mr. Darcy!
  2. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – because JK Rowling is a friggin’ genius and this was the best one yet.
  3. The Diary of Anne Frank – because I was 12 when I read her diary and it was like she knew me.
  4. A Tale of Two Cities – because this is the best Charles Dickens book with the most beautiful writing. I love Sydney Carton who gave me the ultimate tortured hero while delivering probably the best lines in all of literature while on the way to the guillotine -“It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done..” – how deliciously morbid!
  5. The Red Tent – Anita Diamant: biblical historic fiction about menstruation – what’s not to like – Selah!
  6. Dune – because Frank Herbert’s trilogy about giant spice worms and freaky twin children and zombie soldiers is peppered with beautiful lines like “I must not fear, fear is the mind killer,…I will face my fear, I will let the fear pass through me..
  7. The Godfather – Mario Puzo: Because I read it feverishly during my “American Classics” phase where I read Catcher in the Rye and Stone for Danny Fisher and To Kill a Mockingbird. In my head, Don Corleone saying “I’ll make him an offer he can’t refuse” was 100 times more chilling than Brando!
  8. Daddy Long Legs – Jean Webster: Because it’s funny and I have borrowed shamelessly from it in my own writing.
  9. The Talk-Funny Girl – Roland Merullo: Because it’s poignant and beautiful with the most lyrical prose I’ve read in a long time.
  10. The Art of Racing in the Rain – Garth Stein: Because the thought that we are all reincarnated dogs completely meshes with my idea of karma and conservation of energy.
  11. Bossypants – the brilliant Tina Fey: because anyone who can write “Bitch is the new black” is a goddess in my humble opinion!

Well, I’m done, my coffee cup is drained and I have a lecture to prepare for. This has been a really fun thing to do, but I’m not going to nominate anyone because I don’t assign homework to friends – just students who have no choice ;-)! I’m qualifying here that these are my top books TODAY – if I did this tomorrow I’d probably have others. I can see that I’ve missed PG Wodehouse, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Agatha Christie, Shell Silverstein, Julia Quinn,…, the list is long! Also, I know I’ve done 11 when I was supposed to only do 10 – I was going for extra credit!

Leave a Reply

