Things I have started… but not finished

I am a serial starter of projects. I love the thrill at the beginning, the planning, the preparing, the acquiring of sundry items that I will absolutely need to succeed. I am, however, not as experienced at the feelings of accomplishment that I’ve been told come with successfully completing said project. Yes, I’m looking at you photo scrapbooking project, and you half-finished knit scarf, and you vegetable garden, and…this list is long and depressing.

So this whole blog thing is more than a little nerve wracking because unlike the scrapbook and the scarf, my inadequacies are broadcast to the world at large. Maybe that will keep me honest, accountability is a great motivator, or so Weight Watchers has told me. And if I fail to blog, at least I won’t have to dedicate a closet to house random items like crochet needles, stitch savers, three-and-a-half skeins of wool, stencils, pretty paper, Miracle-Gro etc.

Not that I haven’t finished things – I finish entire bags of chips and chocolates in one sitting, I’ve finished bottles of wine, I’ve finished reading People magazine cover to cover while waiting at the dentist. Then there are the more long term things – I finished grad school – even a post-doc and they had to kick me out because there was literally no more I could study. I fully intend to finish raising my kids – provided, that is, I don’t lose my mind in the process.

So my current plan is to blog at least 3 times a week, ….and exercise everyday,….and give my kids a homecooked meal everyday 5 3 times a week,….and drink more water,….and finish that manuscript on heart rate variability I’ve been writing for 3 years now,….and organize my pantry. I’m getting a sinking sensation in the pit of my stomach – I think it’s just a lack of chocolate in my system.

4 comments

  1. Having seen someone else admit they have many WIPs I shamingly admit I have way too many myself. I shall finish some (I know it won’t be all!) one day. Nice post.

Leave a Reply

